Rules of Golf

Home/Rules of Golf

Rule 24-2 Immovable Obstructions

For a detailed video overview of Immovable Obstructions, the definition, relief options, and exceptions, please click here. 24-2. Immovable Obstruction a. Interference Interference by an immovable obstruction occurs when a ball lies in or on the obstruction, or when the obstruction interferes with the player’s stance or the area of his intended swing. If the player’s ball lies on the putting green, interference also occurs if an immovable obstruction on the putting green intervenes on his line of putt. Otherwise, intervention on the line of play is not, of itself, interference under this Rule. b. Relief Except when the ball is in a water hazard or a lateral water hazard, a player may take relief from interference by an immovable obstruction as follows: (i)Through the Green: If the ball lies through the green, the player must lift the ball and drop it, without penalty, within one club-length of and not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief. The nearest point of relief must not be in a hazard or on a putting green. When the ball is dropped within one club-length of the nearest point of relief, the ball must first strike a part of the course at a spot that avoids interference by the immovable obstruction and is not in a hazard and not on a putting green. (ii)In a Bunker: If the ball is in a bunker, the player must lift the ball and drop it either: (a) Without penalty, in accordance with Clause (i) above, except that the nearest point of relief must be in the bunker and the ball must be dropped in the bunker; or (b) Under penalty of one stroke, outside the bunker keeping the point where [...]

By | 2012-04-12T10:35:41+00:00 April 12th, 2012|0 Comments

Loose Impediments

23-1. Relief To view a video of the rule explained, please click here. Except when both the loose impediment and the ball lie in or touch the same hazard, any loose impediment may be removed without penalty. If the ball lies anywhere other than on the putting green and the removal of a loose impediment by the player causes the ball to move, Rule 18-2a applies. On the putting green, if the ball or ball-marker is accidentally moved in the process of the player removing a loose impediment, the ball or ball-marker must be replaced. There is no penalty, provided the movement of the ball or ball-marker is directly attributable to the removal of the loose impediment. Otherwise, if the player causes the ball to move, he incurs a penalty of one stroke under Rule 18-2a. When a ball is in motion, a loose impediment that might influence the movement of the ball must not be removed. Note: If the ball lies in a hazard, the player must not touch or move any loose impediment lying in or touching the same hazard – see Rule 13-4c.

By | 2017-04-17T13:54:48+00:00 April 5th, 2012|0 Comments

Rules of Golf: Ball Moving After Address – Change for 2012

Rule 18-2b. Ball Moving After Address A new Exception is added in 2012 that exonerates the player from penalty if his ball moves after it has been addressed when it is known or virtually certain that he did not cause the ball to move. For example, if it is a gust of wind that moves the ball after it has been addressed, there is no penalty and the ball is played from its new position. In this situation, a player would play the ball where it lies in its new position with no penalty.

By | 2012-01-19T11:07:09+00:00 January 19th, 2012|0 Comments
Paste your AdWords Remarketing code here