PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla. – The South Florida PGA  recognized the most outstanding PGA Professionals and most valued ambassadors of the game in the South Florida Section during an evening of honors at The Country Club of Mirasol on Monday night, November 12th.  


The evening celebration began with cocktails and a warm welcome from the South Florida PGA Executive Director, Geoff Lofstead, and President of the Section, Brian Peaper. A decadent dinner preceded the introduction of the 11, 2012 SFPGA Annual Award winners by the evening’s Master of Ceremonies, Pat Murphy, CBS 12 sports director:


Salesperson of the Year – Bill Bishop, Taylormade adidas Ashworth

Merchandiser of the Year at a Private Facility – Christy Hedrick, PGA

Merchandiser of the Year at a Public Facility – John Miller, PGA

Merchandiser of the Year at a Resort Facility – Bob Coman, PGA

Player Development Award – Jeff Nixon, PGA

Horton Smith Award – Bill Davis, PGA

Bill Strausbaugh Award – Pat Gorman, PGA

Assistant of the Year – Daniel Terlescki, PGA

Junior Golf Leader – Craig Watson, PGA

Teacher of the Year – Andy Scott, PGA

Golf Professional of the Year – Karl Bublitz, PGA


Following the awards receptions of the 11 honored PGA Professionals, Murphy introduced Tim Rosafore, world renowned sports writer and reporter, then Joe Steranka, CEO of the PGA of America, as they were inducted into the South Florida PGA Hall of Fame. Both Rosaforte and Steranka presented moving acceptance speeches that offered encouragement and inspiration to those in attendance.  The presence of family and friends of all of the award recipients and Hall of Fame Inductees created a warm atmosphere as fellow professionals and friends joined in an evening of celebration and congratulations.


To view a video clip of the evening featured on the CBS 12 website, CLICK HERE.